Riyad Mahrez crowned Africa’s best player #GloCAFAwards2016.

Riyad Mahrez of Algeria and Leicester City won the day’s most prestigious award, polling three hundred and sixty-one votes to win the twenty-sixteen African Player of the Year Award.

He beat twenty-fifteen winner Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Borrusia Dortmund who had three hundred and thirteenvotes in second place, and Sadio Mane of Senegal and Liverpool who was third with one hundred and eighty-six votes.

Dennis Onyango of Mamelodi Sundowns and Uganda won the twenty-sixteen African Player of the Year Based in Africa Award.

In second place was Khama Billiat of Mamelodi Sundowns and Zimbabwe, while Rainford Kalaba of TP Mazembe and Zambia came third.

Uganda won the twenty-sixteen National Team of the Year Award by beating Senegal and DR Congo, while Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa won the twenty-sixteen Club of the Year Award.

The twenty-sixteen African club champions beat TP Mazembe of DR Congo and Zesco United of Zambia to the award.

Meanwhile, the CAF Champions League winners’ coach, Pitso Mosimane, won the twenty-sixteen Coach of the Year Award, while Bakary Gassama of The Gambia won the twenty-sixteen Referee of the Year Award.



Information is a growth for human being, without information we can't live, practicing Journalism in today's style and preparing for tomorrows changes: I am a Journalist, media consultant, social media manager; update yourself with information at newserablog.worldpress.com.

Categories SportLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s